Last price update was: June 18, 2021 2:52 pm
× Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

VocalSkull Alien 5

6.5/10 (Expert Score)
Add to wishlistAdded to wishlistRemoved from wishlist 0
Add to compare
Set Lowest Price Alert
×
Notify me, when price drops
Set Alert for Product: [Upgraded Version] Alien 5 Bone Conduction Glasses Bluetooth 5.0 Headphones Myopia Waterproof Wireless Headset for iOS Android Matted Black Frame (Frame+Mold Lenses) - $109.00
[Upgraded Version] Alien 5 Bone Conduction Glasses Bluetooth 5.0 Headphones... & Free shipping
$109.00
2 new from $109.00
Horizon Outdoor Alien 5 Bone Conduction Glasses Wireless Bluetooth 4.1... & Free shipping
$109.00
2 new from $109.00
out of stock
out of stock
Check all prices
  • One of the very few smart glasses that support multi-point connection today
  • Patented BS-08 bone conduction moving coil speaker
  • Improved sound leakage restriction performance
Last updated on June 18, 2021 2:52 pm

Description

VocalSkull Alien 5 is one of the few smart audio glasses that still use bone conduction vibrators in 2021.

The audio quality from these glasses seems outdated today, especially when you hear the cracks of the sound in higher volumes.

Update - 2021.04.08We’ve updated a sound test video about the sound quality for Alien 5 (and for many other brands). Check the below video to see the how it performs.

Note: the sound is played at 100% volume so that the microphone could receive the most detail. You will not usually need to adjust the sound to the maximum in everyday wearing.

Moreover, because Alien 5 adopts bone conduction speakers, what you hear when wearing the glasses may be a little different from what you hear in this video.

We made this test but I don’t think this video represents the actual sound quality of Alien 5.

From my personal experience wearing the glasses, I usually hear fewer cracks than what’s shown in this video.

Because firstly it’s usually unnecessary to adjust the sound directly to 100%. Secondly, VocalSkull adopts bone conduction vibrator and the sound is delivered to you differently. So what you actually hear when personally wearing the glasses is quite different.

Still, in my opinion, it’s time for VocalSkull to upgrade their bone conduction speakers. We have another video where we test the audio from Aftershokz Aeropex. You can compare the audio difference.

If you don’t have a very good reason to stick to bone conduction devices, I recommend directional speaker glasses more as they generally deliver better audio.

We do find a special feature that currently probably only Alien 5 supports (correct me if I’m wrong) – multi-point connection.

This feature is common in TWS earbuds but I just have no idea why it’s so rare in Bluetooth audio glasses.

Imagine when you are watching YouTube videos on your PC and suddenly you receive a phone call. Without multi-point connection, I’ll have to pause the video and pick up my phone and answer it. With this feature, I can directly answer the call with my glasses and the video will pause automatically. This will be significantly more convenient.

6.5Expert Score
Had Its Day, Needs Further Upgrade Today
Alien 5 is definitely a pair of very competitive audio glasses before 2021. However, more audio glasses are emerging this year. The advantages that bone conduction vibrators used to have are gradually eclipsed by other audio glasses. Even with the upgrade, you should choose other non-bone conduction sunglasses if you care more about sound quality.
Sound Leakage
7
Sound Quality
5
Comfort Level
7.5
PROS
  • Multi-point connection
  • Lightweight and comfortable
  • Impressive standby time
  • Solid water resistance level
  • Acceptable sound leakage
CONS
  • Rubber strap in one side of the glasses legs is easy to stain with dust and hard to clean up
  • White version of the glasses' legs creak when opened and closed
  • Weak sound quality comparing with non-bone conduction audio glasses

VocalSkull Alien 5 Prices

$109.00
June 18, 2021 2:52 pm
× Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com (Amazon.in, Amazon.co.uk, Amazon.de, etc) at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.
2 new from $109.00
$109.00
June 18, 2021 2:52 pm
× Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com (Amazon.in, Amazon.co.uk, Amazon.de, etc) at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.
2 new from $109.00

Price History

Price history for [Upgraded Version] Alien 5 Bone Conduction Glasses Bluetooth 5.0 Headphones Myopia Waterproof Wireless Headset for iOS Android Matted Black Frame (Frame+Mold Lenses)
Latest updates:
  • $109.00 - June 2, 2021
  • $89.95 - May 19, 2021
  • $95.00 - April 28, 2021
  • $89.95 - February 10, 2021
  • $95.00 - February 6, 2021
Since: February 6, 2021
  • Highest Price: $109.00 - June 2, 2021
  • Lowest Price: $89.95 - February 10, 2021

Additional information

Specification: VocalSkull Alien 5

bluetooth version

4.1

battery volume

250mAh

bone conduction

yes

cellphone app

no

brand

VocalSkull

charging port

micro-usb

charging time

2 hours

firmware update

no

frame material

TR-90

gesture control

no

model

Alien 5

ios/android compatible

yes

playtime / phone call time

4 hours

official prescription service

yes

standby time

10 days

supported profiles

A2DP, AVRCP, HFP, HSP

swappable lenses

yes

virtual assistant compatible

yes

sound volume control

glasses integrated

water resistance

IP67

weight

32g

Videos

Videos: VocalSkull Alien 5

Reviews (0)

User Reviews

0.0 out of 5
0
0
0
0
0
Write a review

There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “VocalSkull Alien 5”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

100BuyTech
Logo
Enable registration in settings - general
Compare items
  • Total (0)
Compare
0
Shopping cart